Michigan Graduated Driver Licensing
The following information was derived
from Michigan Department of State. You may find a complete guide by
going to your Secretary of State branch or @ www.Michigan.gov/sos
Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) consists of two segments of driver education instruction and three licensing levels.
Segment 1Driver Education
· 14 years 8 months of age
· Permission of parent/guardian
· Minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction
· Minimum of 6 hours behind-the-wheel driving
· May drive only with driver education instructor
Level 1 Learner’s License
· Must have a Certificate of Completion from Segment 1
· Must have a certified copy of birth certificate
· Parent/guardian signature required by Secretary of State
· Pass vision screening required by Secretary of State
· May only drive with licensed parent/guardian or designated adult age 21 or older
· Parent/guardian or designated adult must sit in front seat
Segment 2Driver Education
· 30 hours minimum of supervised driving time including a minimum of two hours night driving
· 90 days since completing Segment 1
· 6 hours of classroom driver education instruction
Road Skills TestingDriver Education
· Completed Segment 2 of the driver education course
· Completed a minimum 50 hours of supervised driving, which includes a minimum of 10 hours of night driving
· Has had a Level 1 License for a minimum of 180 days
· We provide defensive driving techniques to prepare for the road test, but we do not provide road skills testing.
Please contact a local road tester to register.
Level 2 License
· Teen is at least 16 years old
· Possessed a Level 1 License for 180 days
· Complete Segment 1 and 2 of an approved driver education program
· Passed a road test and present a skills test certificate
· Completed a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving time, including 10 hours at night
· Must be violation and suspension free for at least 90 days.
· Have parent/guardian sign the application and certify the minimum 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience.
· Between midnight and 5 a.m., teen must drive with a licensed adult over age 21 unless driving to and from employment.
Level 3 License
· Teen is at least 17 years old
· Held Level 2 License for 180 days
· Must be violation and suspension free for 12 consecutive months prior to applying for the Level 3 License.
· No state-imposed license restriction
· Parent or guardian may restrict or cancel the license